Pudding in the Vitamix

I can’t remember where I found this recipe, so I don’t know who to give credit to.  I tried to type the recipe in segments to make it easier for me.  I hope it makes it easier for you.  I use this recipe to make a banana pudding.  Just layer with cookies and bananas.

CHOCOLATE PUDDING

Place these three ingredients in the vitamix blender.  Begin with the lowest speed and quickly increase to high.  Run for 3 to 4 minutes.

  • 2 cups milk (or cream)
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ cup sugar (sucanat)

Add corn starch through the top while blender is still running.  Run for a couple of minutes or until pudding gets thick.

  • 4 Tbsp corn starch

Drop in the chocolate and egg through the top while blender is still running.   Run for two more minutes.  Turn speed down to low.

  • 2 ounces chocolate
  • 1 egg

Add vanilla and butter and allow to run on low for about a minute.

  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 Tbsp butter

Chill.

Variations:

Lemon pudding:  add lemon extract, instead of chocolate.

Mocha Pudding:  Add some instant coffee.

Vanilla Pudding:  Double the vanilla.

You could also use other chips…butterscotch, chocolate, peanut butter.

This entry was posted in Pudding with my Vitamix, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pudding in the Vitamix

  1. April says:

    So good! Thanks!!

  2. Holly says:

    Hopefully this will thicken when chilled.

  3. Cindy says:

    Is the chocolate to add, unsweetened squares, semi-sweet squares, cocoa powder?

    • gintat says:

      I have used cocoa powder and unsweetened squares. I think the recipe called for the squares, but I don’t always have squares available.

  4. Wendi Shier says:

    Are you adding the corn starch when it’s still cold or after it heats up?

  5. sonniedae says:

    Im brand new to Vitamix 05/2015. The demonstrator at Costco showed us how it can heat broth to boiling. I noticed your recipe calls for an egg. Does the pudding get that warm to safely cook the egg? I grew up in the “dont eat raw cookie dough era or under cooked eggs” is why I am asking. :0)

    • gina says:

      I didn’t grow up in that era, so that question never crossed my mind. Because of an autoimmune disease my daughter has, we now follow the autoimmune protocol diet and we are no longer able to use this recipe. I think you should use a thermometer to test the temperature of the pudding at the end and then do an internet search to see how hot it should be to be safe. Sorry I can’t be of more help.

    • gina says:

      Because of an autoimmune disease my daughter has, we now follow the autoimmune protocol diet and we are no longer able to use this recipe. I think you should use a thermometer to test the temperature of the pudding at the end and then do an internet search to see how hot it should be to be safe. Sorry I can’t be of more help.

    • Elizabeth Creighton says:

      Yes it does. I make eggnog and check it with a thermometer. It easily reaches 160 degrees which is the safe temp for eggs. And when you take the lid off it’s steamy and could burn you. I also make lemon curd. This pudding is a new favorite!!!

  6. Shirlee says:

    Shouldn’t the mixture be heated up after taking it out of Vitamix because of the raw egg? I heated the chic pudding in microwave before chilling.

    • gina says:

      Because of an autoimmune disease my daughter has, we now follow the autoimmune protocol diet and we are no longer able to use this recipe. I think you should use a thermometer to test the temperature of the pudding at the end and then do an internet search to see how hot it should be to be safe. Sorry I can’t be of more help.

    • Elizabeth Creighton says:

      The Vitamix heats it to cook the egg.

  7. Wendi Shier says:

    We could probably just run the VM longer so the pudding gets hotter and cooks the egg…right?

  8. gina says:

    I would think so. As long as it reaches the proper temperature for egg safety. According to this website (In a heavy saucepan, stir together the eggs and either sugar, water or other liquid from the recipe here are some guidelines: Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until the egg mixture coats a metal spoon with a thin film or reaches 160° F. Immediately place the saucepan in ice water and stir until the egg mixture is cool. Proceed with the recipe. http://www.incredibleegg.org/egg-nutrition/safe-food-handling-tips/#8

  9. Oliver says:

    this one works and no eggs
    1/2 cup granulated white sugar
    6 tablespoons cocoa powder
    6 tablespoons cornstarch
    3 cups half and half (or 3 cups whole milk)
    2 tablespoons butter
    1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
    1 pinch salt

Leave a comment