FoDo: Faux Dough

Lost this post due to my battery running down.  So, now you get the shortened version.  Let’s see…can I tell a shortened version?  I was making almond butter from roasted almonds.  I would buy them raw and then roast them, in order to release the fat…to make a spreadable almond butter.  BUT, then I started research and found out some interesting things…like…almonds are full of wonderful digestive enzymes, but they also have enzyme inhibitors.  Your body can’t make use of the enzymes, unless you soak your almonds first.  The soaking breaks down the inhibitors.  Now, you can use the soaked almonds to make almond milk or you can dehydrate them.  I do both.  In order to protect the digestive enzymes, you must dehydrate at a low temp.  I dehydrate at 135 degrees for about 2 hours and then turn it down to 105 degrees.  I now dehydrate for a very long time…about 1 1/2 days.  I begin around 7pm and dehydrate all night, all the next day and all the next night.  I remove them on the 2nd day…in the morning.  I was roasting them to make a spreadable butter, but that would require roasting at a high temp, which would destroy the enzymes I tried to protect.  So, I did things a little differently.  Place 3 cups of almonds in the dry container of my vitamix.  Add 3 or 4 oz. of grapeseed oil (this is probably a high fat almond butter, but our diet is so limited…this treat is worth it).  Add 1 oz. of maple syrup and 4 packets of truvia (or erythritol).  Begin blending on low until the almonds begin to circulate.  At that time, increase speed to high (slowly).  Use the tamper to move things around.  Blend on high for 1 minute.  The almond butter will not be “spreadable”, but it will be “spoonable” and you will feel like you’re getting a special treat.

Here’s the list..simplified:

  • 3 cups of dehydrated raw almonds
  • 1 oz. of maple syrup
  • 3 or 4 oz. of grapeseed oil
  • a pinch of salt
  • Blend for at least 1 minute.
This entry was posted in Autoimmune Protocol Recipes, FoDo Faux Dough, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

