Easy, Easy Plantain Crackers

I think this is easy…at least it is in my vitamix blender.

This is AIP friendly (autoimmune protocol).  Here’s what you need:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

2 large green plantains ( around 2 cups pureed….no need to be exact)

1/2 cup of extra virgin coconut oil, melted or palm shortening

1/2 tsp of salt (or to taste)

extra:  garlic powder, onion powder, italian seasoning (make sure your seasoning doesn’t have any seed spices in it)

Okay, this came from the paleomom website.  I’ll put a link at the bottom, but I sort of modified it.  Here’s what I do:

Peel one plantain and cut into pieces.  The best way to peel is to cut the end and bottom off.  Cut a slit the entire length of the plantain…three times.  Peel one section off at a time.  Add your shortening or coconut oil.  I do not melt.  Add salt and then I just throw in the extra seasoning I want.  I think you could about add anything.  I turn on my blender and blend on high for about a minute.  You will need to use the tamper to get it mixed well.  Place parchment paper on a large pan…like a 12×18 pan…with parchment paper.  Use a spatual to spread the mixture over the entire pan.  Bake at 300 degrees for 10 minutes.  Remove the pan from the oven and score with a knife.  Return to oven and bake 50-60 minutes or a dark brown (not burnt).  They are wonderful.  It’s so nice to crunch on something that feels like bread.

Here’s the paleomom post:  http://www.thepaleomom.com/2012/09/plantain-crackers-nut-free-egg-free.html

This entry was posted in Autoimmune Protocol Recipes, Easy Plantain Crackers, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

