Our “7” Journey First Fast

This was actually written on Monday, April 8, 2013:

I wrote this on a group page, but I wanted to share it with others.  If you haven’t heard of the book “7 an experimental mutiny against excess”, it may not make sense.  My family has been on the first of 7 fasts.  The first one revolves around food.  We chose 7 foods to eat for 28 days.  We were not able to swap out foods.  Here is my testimony as our first fast ended last night.

I can’t tell you how emotional I am today. Last night was the end of our 28 days on the “food” fast. I thought I might stay up until midnight and eat, but I went to sleep at 11:30…it just didn’t matter. This morning I woke up and could have eaten anything I wanted, but didn’t. I had my same old kefir smoothie. We just finished reading the food chapter of the bible study book that goes along with 7. It ended with “and He was hungry” and the author is hungry. I began to cry for I am hungry too, but it’s not for mayonaise 🙂 If you’ve heard me talk you will understand how much I’ve missed mayo. How could mayo have been so important yesterday and not matter today? WE are all changed. My girls are having the same experience…it just doesn’t matter. WE are hungry for more of Jesus and what He has for us. 28 days….I think it took all of those days to get us where we are today. It was a long time…but here we go….today we begin 28 days of 7 clothes. One of my daughters is in a panic…but God is doing something big. I am hungry, but let me be filled as Jesus was in John 4:31….

31 In the meantime the disciples kept urging Him, “•Rabbi, eat something.”
32 But He said, “I have food to eat that you don’t know about.”
33 The disciples said to one another, “Could someone have brought Him something to eat?”
34 “My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me and to finish His work,” Jesus told them.

This entry was posted in 7 Food Fast, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

