So sad…I was …

So sad…I was writing a post and somehow closed the page.  It’s never the same when you have to re-write.  Wow…just hit me…I’m writing a post about God speaking to me through Jeremiah.  Jeremiah had been told by God to write everything he said down and by God’s plan the writing made it to the king.  God had told Jeremiah and his scribe Baruch to hide and sure enough the king was angry with Jeremiah’s writings, tore them to pieces and burned them in a fire.  He then wanted Jeremiah to be captured.  Jeremiah was not found and God had him re-write the book.  Of course, this time, there is the addition of the king’s actions and the order to re-write.  I almost didn’t bother to write this again…laziness, but now I’m glad I am being faithful.  

So here, was my original point.  I’ve been reading the bible through chronologically and I’m now in Jeremiah.  I found myself grieving for Judah because of the condemnation that was being pronounced on them by God.  I wondered where God’s love was.  Wednesday, I was doing my daily walking and was listening to a song called “Alive” by Natalie Grant.  It is from the Bible Curriculum “The Story” and is about Mary Magdalene from the New Testament.  I realized just how much God loved her from the beginning of time and though she had a “colorful” past…God loved her and had always planned to have a relationship with her.  This then sent me to Jeremiah and I think I got it.  You see this was always about God’s love for His people.  A stranger can say mean things to me, hurt me and even cause me a certain amount of grief, but I never feel betrayed by them.  Let someone I am in a relationship with, do the same things and it would be devastating.  They are my loved ones and it would wound me deeply to have them turn on me. You see, Judah was God’s chosen people (He always had a plan to use those people to point the world to Him).  They were like a wife to a husband.  You know, I hear about other people and their unfaithfulness to their spouse and it makes me sad , but I must believe that if my husband were to be unfaithful to me, it would break my heart.

I hope I can do my thoughts justice here….Why wouldn’t God be angry, when his people were unfaithful?  It’s because of His love that God warned them and gave them consequences for unfaithfulness.  It was because of His great love that He pursued them.  It was because of His love that His Righteous anger was kindled.  It IS because of His great love that He sent His son to suffer in our place.  He didn’t despise His son and decide to torture and condemn Him in our place for that reason.  It’s always been about His love for mankind and Christ’s love for His father.  If God didn’t want us, would He give us His attention?  You know…I can pretty much overlook the disobedience of other people’s kids, but my own children get my full attention and they get consequences…because of my Great Love for them.  There is so much evil in the world, but it’s because of disobedience from man.  Man does evil.  God wants us to turn to Him so He can bless us.  Today I was reading in Jeremiah 18-22 and here is the famous part about the potter and the clay.  I’m going to boldprint what God has shown me.

Jeremiah 18:5 The word of the Lord came to me: “House of Israel, can I not treat you as this potter treats his clay?”—this is the Lord’s declaration. “Just like clay in the potter’s hand, so are you in My hand, house of Israel. At one moment I might announce concerning a nation or a kingdom that I will uproot, tear down, and destroy it. However, if that nation I have made an announcement about turns from its evil, I will relent concerning the disaster I had planned to do to it. At another time I announce that I will build and plant a nation or a kingdom. 10 However, if it does what is evil in My sight by not listening to My voice, I will relent concerning the good I had said I would do to it. 11 So now, say to the men of Judah and to the residents of Jerusalem: This is what the Lord says: I am about to bring harm to you and make plans against you. Turn now, each from your evil way, and correct your ways and your deeds. 12 But they will say, ‘It’s hopeless. We will continue to follow our plans, and each of us will continue to act according to the stubbornness of his evil heart.’”

You see, good was always God’s plan, but many choose his own plans.

What is “good”?  We think…makes me comfortable.  We say God is good and only gives good, but I”m certainly not always comfortable.  Maybe our definition is wrong…maybe good is to be made more like Jesus.  Jesus was not always comfortable.  Jesus surrendered to His father and was always obedient.  God’s word says He will work all things out to good for those called according to His purpose.  I see…God will work all things out to make me more like HIs son.  I must say…I like that.  It hurts when I’m being mashed like the clay, but each time I seem to be made more beautiful and I definitely have a lot more peace in my life.  Peace..even through the many tragedies which have occurred in our lives.

I guess I better go.  I hope this touched you the way it did me.

Aside | This entry was posted in spiritual and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

