All In One Cabbage Casserole

First:  I use brown rice.  In order to make this recipe work with brown rice.  I keep some parboiled rice in my freezer.  I cook brown rice in my rice cooker, but you could do this on the stove.  I cook it for half the time and then I drain the water off.  I allow it to cool down and then I measure out my rice by 1/2 cups into freezer bags and put in the freezer.  This way I can use and rice recipe without adjusting the water for brown rice.  I hope this makes sense.

All In One Cabbage Casserole:  My entire family loves this recipe.  Who would have thought it?

1 medium cabbage
1 lb. ground beef or turkey
1 chopped onion
1/2 c. uncooked rice (or parboiled brown rice)
1 (10 1/2 oz) can of tomato sauce
1 can of water
1 can of stewed tomatoes
salt and pepper to taste

Cut cabbage into a 9×13 inch baking dish.  Brown beef and onion.  Stir in rice and place mixture on cabbage.  Combine soup and water and pour over all.

Bake covered at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

I  stir it at the end and then add a very little mozzarella cheese and place back in the oven to melt it.

This entry was posted in All in One Cabbage Casserole, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All In One Cabbage Casserole

  1. Pingback: Week 5 Menu | ourjourneywithhim

Leave a Reply

